There is a fact worth knowing before comparing these two, and it shapes everything below. ABCmouse publishes its prices: $14.99 a month, $29.99 for six months, or $45.00 a year on the web. SplashLearn does not publish a family price anywhere on its public site. You find out what it costs partway through a sign up.
That is not a verdict on either product. Plenty of good companies do it, and six of the sixteen apps we track publish no price at all. But it does mean a fair comparison has to be honest about the asymmetry rather than quietly filling in a number from a review site.
Beyond the money, these two are aiming at slightly different children. ABCmouse is a guided path for two to eight year olds across reading, maths, science and art. SplashLearn is adaptive practice in maths and reading for Pre-K to Grade 5, which reaches older children but covers fewer subjects.
Side by side
| SplashLearn | ABCmouse | |
|---|---|---|
| Published family price | Not published on the public site | $14.99 a month, $29.99 for six months, $45.00 a year on the web |
| Free tier | Free for teachers | 10 activities a day |
| Range | Pre-K to Grade 5 | Ages 2 to 8 |
| Subjects | Maths and reading | Reading, maths, science, art, music |
| Approach | Adaptive practice that adjusts to the child | A fixed mapped path with rewards |
| Advertising | Not stated on the site | None |
| Offline | Not published | Not published |
The Problem With Comparing These Two
Most comparisons of SplashLearn and ABCmouse quietly assume they compete for the same purchase, and for a five year old they do. For a nine year old they do not, because ABCmouse has nothing at that level. For a child who needs science and art, SplashLearn has nothing either.
The deeper difficulty is that they use opposite teaching models and both models work, on different children. Adaptive practice adjusts difficulty based on answers, which is efficient and can feel relentless. A fixed path is predictable and rewarding, and can leave a fast child doing things they already know. Neither is objectively better, and no review can tell you which describes your child.
So the useful comparison is not which is better. It is which of two specific bets matches the child in front of you, and what each one costs to find out.
Curriculum and Range
SplashLearn covers maths and reading from Pre-K through Grade 5. That upper reach is its real advantage. A family with a seven, eight or nine year old has a genuine option here where ABCmouse simply stops.
ABCmouse covers a broader set of subjects across a narrower age band. Reading, maths, science, art and music, all inside one numbered path from age two to eight. For a preschool or early primary child this breadth is the point, because it means one app rather than three.
If the child is five, ABCmouse covers more ground. If the child is eight, SplashLearn is the only one of the two still in range.
How Each One Keeps a Child Coming Back
ABCmouse uses an explicit reward economy: tickets earned, prizes bought, a virtual room to decorate. It is effective on children who respond to collecting, and it backfires on children who start optimising for tickets. You will know which you have within two weeks.
SplashLearn leans on game-style practice and adjusting difficulty so a child stays in the band where they can succeed. When adaptive systems work, they are the better design, because the motivation comes from the work being the right level rather than from a prize attached to it. When they misjudge a child, the child gets a run of things that are too hard and disengages quickly.
Pros and Cons
SplashLearn pros: reaches Grade 5, so it lasts years longer than ABCmouse; adaptive difficulty means practice is targeted rather than generic; free for teachers, which is genuinely useful for a classroom or a co-op.
SplashLearn cons: no family price is published publicly, so you cannot compare the cost before starting a sign up; maths and reading only, with no science or art; no offline mode is published; the site does not state whether it carries advertising.
ABCmouse pros: transparent published pricing across three plan lengths; five subjects rather than two; a strong reward loop for children who need one; no advertising; a 30 day free trial on web signup.
ABCmouse cons: stops at age eight; the annual plan is $45.00 on the web but renews at $59.99 through an app store for identical access; the free tier caps at ten activities a day; no offline mode is published. Our full breakdown of ABCmouse pricing covers every plan.
Which Subscription Earns Its Money
Answer three questions in order and the choice usually makes itself.
How old is the child? Eight or over, and ABCmouse is out of range regardless of anything else. Under six, and ABCmouse covers more subjects for a price you can see before you commit.
What is the actual problem? If it is that your child does not know what to do next, buy the path, which is ABCmouse. If it is that your child is either bored or drowning in maths at school, buy the adaptive practice, which is SplashLearn.
Do you need to know the price first? If yes, that decides it for now. A subscription you cannot price before signing up is a reasonable thing to refuse on principle, and there is no shortage of alternatives.
Before paying for either, it is worth ruling out that free covers it. Both are competing against free options that are genuinely good at this age, and we set out what a subscription actually buys in detail. The free course catalogue here runs Playgroup to Grade 5 across nine subjects with nothing locked, which spans both of these apps’ ranges at no cost, though it has no reward economy and a smaller library than either.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
How much does SplashLearn cost?
The company does not publish a family price on its public site, so we will not state one. It is free for teachers. To find the family figure you have to begin a sign up, which is worth knowing before you start.
How much does ABCmouse cost?
$14.99 a month, $29.99 for six months, or $45.00 a year when you sign up on the web. Through an app store the annual plan renews at $59.99 for identical access, which is the detail most people miss.
Which is better for a 4 year old?
ABCmouse, for most families. At four the breadth across reading, maths, science and art matters more than adaptive precision, and a guided path suits an age when the child cannot choose sensibly for themselves.
Which is better for an 8 year old?
SplashLearn, because ABCmouse effectively ends at eight. At that age the useful thing is targeted practice on the specific gaps, which is what adaptive systems are for.
Do either of them work offline?
Neither publishes an offline mode on its site. If the tablet is mainly used in cars, on planes or somewhere with weak wifi, this is the question to settle before the price question, and it points at different apps entirely.
Is there a free option that does what both do?
Partly. Khan Academy Kids is free and covers the ABCmouse age range well but stops at eight. For maths practice to Grade 8, Prodigy makes its curriculum content free. No single free app replicates adaptive practice with full parent reporting, which is the one thing a subscription reliably buys.
