Learning App for Kids
← All articles
Learning AppsNovember 3, 2026·10 min read

Most Trusted 10 ABCmouse Alternatives for Kids (Free and Paid)

Looking for an ABCmouse alternative? Compare 10 kids learning apps by age, price and what they teach, free and paid options included.

🦉Learning App for Kids Team
Most Trusted 10 ABCmouse Alternatives for Kids (Free and Paid)
Quick answer: Learning App for Kids, Khan Academy Kids, PBS Kids Games and Duolingo ABC are free, with no subscription. Homer, Reading Eggs and Kiddopia are paid apps with structured reading and early learning paths. Pick based on your child’s age, the subjects you need and whether lessons must work offline.

ABCmouse lists its Premium plan at $14.99 a month or $79.99 a year. Several strong options cost nothing.

Parents look for an ABCmouse alternative for one of three reasons: cost, age range or subject mix. More apps mean more choice, and more to sort through. The strongest apps teach skills in a set sequence and show parents which skills their child practiced.

The right pick matches your child’s age and the subjects you care about most. Some families want ad-free educational apps for preschoolers. Others need offline learning apps for travel, bilingual early learning platforms or interactive STEM apps for kids. The table below compares all 10 options on age, price and offline use.

AppAgesBest forPriceWorks offlineAccount needed
Learning App for Kids3-10Free, bilingual English and Urdu lessonsFreeYes (Android app lessons)No (optional)
Khan Academy Kids2-8Free all-round early learningFreeYes (offline library)No email needed for students
PBS Kids Games2-8Games with familiar PBS charactersFreeYes (downloaded games)
StarfallPre-K to Grade 5Phonics and early mathFree basic; $35/yr Home membershipNot stated
Duolingo ABCPreschool to 2nd gradeBeginning readersFreeYes
Homer2-8Personalized reading and math$9.99/mo or $59.99/yr
Lingokids2-8Academics plus life skills$71.88 a year after a 7-day trial (Lingokids offer page)Not stated
SplashLearnPreschool to Grade 5Math and English practiceNot publishedNot stated
Reading Eggs2-13Structured phonics lessonsNot publishedNot statedYes (to start the trial)
Kiddopia2-7Game-based learning for preschoolers$12.99/mo or $79.99/yrYes
 

1. Learning App for Kids

Learning App for Kids is a free web app and free Android app for children ages 3 to 10. Lessons are aligned to the Pakistan Single National Curriculum (SNC) and taught in English and Urdu, including Urdu script.

Every lesson opens without an account. The Android app, Little Scholars, bundles every lesson and runs them with no network once installed. A Journey progress path shows parents how far their child has moved through each level.

  • Best for: Free, bilingual learning across nine subjects with no login.
  • Ages: 3-10 (Playgroup to Grade 5).
  • Pricing: Free (no subscription, no in-app purchases, no ads).
  • Location: Global (web and Android).
  • What it teaches: English, Maths, Science, Urdu, Islamic Studies, General Knowledge, Art, Health and Pakistan Studies.

Highlights

  • Free, with no ads and no required account.
  • 236 lessons and roughly 1,590 activities across 7 levels.
  • Every lesson in the Little Scholars Android app works offline once installed.
  • English and Urdu instruction, including Urdu script.
  • Built-in tools: Picture Match, an AI tutor, a homework photo helper and a Journey progress path.

Watch-outs

  • No iPhone app. On iPhone and iPad, it runs in the browser.
  • The web app works offline only for lessons already opened online.
  • The AI tutor and homework photo helper need an internet connection.
  • Lessons follow Pakistan’s SNC, so families tracking a US school standard should compare grade topics.

2. Khan Academy Kids

Khan Academy Kids is a free app for ages 2 to 8. It covers early literacy, math and social-emotional skills through stories, games and animated characters. Khan Academy says the app is 100% free, with no ads and no subscriptions.

  • Best for: Free, all-round early learning.
  • Ages: 2-8.
  • Pricing: Free.
  • What it teaches: Literacy, phonics, math, social-emotional skills and creative expression.

Highlights

  • No ads, no subscriptions and no in-app purchases.
  • An offline library of books and games for learning on the go.
  • COPPA-compliant, per the App Store listing.

Watch-outs

  • Content ends at age 8, so older elementary students outgrow it.
  • No live instruction or tutoring.

3. PBS Kids Games

PBS Kids Games is a free app for ages 2 to 8. It packs hundreds of learning games starring characters from shows like Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood and Wild Kratts. Families can download games and play offline, which makes it useful on trips.

  • Best for: Free learning games with characters kids already know.
  • Ages: 2-8.
  • Pricing: Free.
  • What it teaches: Early math, reading, science and social skills.

Highlights

  • Free, with no in-app purchases.
  • Downloaded games play offline.
  • Games are available in English and Spanish.

Watch-outs

  • Built as a game collection, not a grade-by-grade curriculum.
  • Content ends at age 8.

4. Starfall

Starfall is a nonprofit known for systematic phonics. Content runs from Pre-K to Grade 5, with math alongside reading. Much of the site is free, and a Home membership unlocks the rest.

  • Best for: Learning to read through systematic phonics, plus early math.
  • Ages: Pre-K to Grade 5.
  • Pricing: Free basic content; a Home membership is $35 a year.
  • What it teaches: Phonics, reading comprehension, numbers, addition and geometry.

Highlights

  • A long-standing focus on foundational phonics.
  • One Home membership covers the whole household for a year.
  • Memberships do not renew automatically.

Watch-outs

  • Some activities, including grade 4 and 5 content, are members-only.
  • Full access requires the paid membership.

5. Duolingo ABC

Duolingo ABC brings Duolingo’s game-style lessons to early literacy. Kids work through short lessons on letters, phonics and sight words. It is free, with no ads or in-app purchases, and works offline. Families homeschooling early readers can use it as a short daily phonics block.

  • Best for: Beginning readers who need phonics and letter practice.
  • Ages: Preschool to 2nd grade.
  • Pricing: Free.
  • What it teaches: Phonics, letter tracing, sight words and reading practice.

Highlights

  • Free, with no ads or in-app purchases.
  • Over 700 reading lessons in a set progression, per the App Store listing.
  • Works offline, so kids practice anywhere.

Watch-outs

  • Covers English reading and writing only, with no math or science.
  • Works best as a reading supplement alongside a broader curriculum.

6. Homer

Homer builds a personalized learning path around a child’s age, interests and skill level. It pairs app activities with offline printables. One plan supports up to four child profiles.

  • Best for: Personalized early reading and math.
  • Ages: 2-8.
  • Pricing: $9.99 a month or $59.99 a year, per Homer’s site.
  • What it teaches: Reading, math, social-emotional learning and creativity.

Highlights

  • Lessons adapt to each child’s interests and level.
  • Offline activities and printables reduce screen time.
  • Up to four child profiles on one account.

Watch-outs

  • A paid plan is required after the free trial.
  • Content ends at age 8.

7. Lingokids

Lingokids teaches through a method it calls Playlearning. It mixes math, reading and phonics with life skills like emotional intelligence, responsibility and STEM. The company describes the app as 100% ad-free.

  • Best for: Pairing academic basics with life skills.
  • Ages: 2-8.
  • Pricing: $71.88 a year after a 7-day trial (Lingokids offer page).
  • What it teaches: Early literacy, math, science and practical life skills.

Highlights

  • Blends academics with social-emotional skills.
  • kidSAFE certified, per the company.
  • Parents can check progress reports on skills practiced.

Watch-outs

  • The free tier is limited. The full library needs a paid membership.
  • Content ends at age 8.

8. SplashLearn

SplashLearn turns math and English practice into games. It runs from preschool through Grade 5, so it stays useful longer than most toddler-focused apps.

  • Best for: Game-based math and reading practice through elementary school.
  • Ages: Preschool to Grade 5.
  • Pricing: Not published.
  • What it teaches: Elementary math, phonics and reading.

Highlights

  • Covers preschool through Grade 5.
  • Separate Math and English programs let parents target one skill.

Watch-outs

  • Covers math and English only, with no science or social studies.
  • Pricing is not listed on the homepage.

9. Reading Eggs

Reading Eggs teaches phonics and literacy in a set sequence. Kids move across a map and earn rewards as tasks get harder. Its Mathseeds program adds math for ages 3 to 9.

  • Best for: Structured, phonics-based reading for emerging readers.
  • Ages: 2-13.
  • Pricing: Not published.
  • What it teaches: Phonemic awareness, sight words, reading comprehension and math.

Highlights

  • A set lesson path means little planning for parents.
  • Reading content spans ages 2 to 13.
  • One plan covers up to four children.

Watch-outs

  • Requires a paid plan.
  • Math content (Mathseeds) stops at age 9.

10. Kiddopia

Kiddopia offers more than 1,000 games and activities for ages 2 to 7. Topics run from basic math to art and role-play. The company describes the app as kid-safe with zero ads, which puts it on the shortlist for parents who want ad-free educational apps for preschoolers.

  • Best for: Game-based learning across many subjects for preschoolers.
  • Ages: 2-7.
  • Pricing: $12.99 a month or $79.99 a year.
  • What it teaches: Language arts, math, science, art, music and role-play.

Highlights

  • More than 1,000 games and activities.
  • No ads.
  • Wide subject range for young children.

Watch-outs

  • Content ends at age 7.
  • Built around games rather than a grade-by-grade sequence.

Start With a Free App, Then Pay Only to Fill a Gap

Answer three questions first. What ages do you need to cover? Which subjects matter most? Does your child need to learn offline?

  • Learning on trips: Choose Learning App for Kids (through the Little Scholars Android app), Khan Academy Kids, PBS Kids Games or Duolingo ABC. All four are free and work offline.
  • English and Urdu: Choose Learning App for Kids, which teaches both languages, including Urdu script.
  • Kids older than 8: Learning App for Kids runs to age 10, Starfall and SplashLearn reach Grade 5, and Reading Eggs reading content runs to age 13.
  • A paid reading path: Reading Eggs follows a set phonics sequence, and Homer builds a personalized reading path. Both cover up to four children.

Before you renew a paid plan, check what ABCmouse actually costs and compare it with what your child uses every day.

Ready to start at zero cost? Open a free lesson by grade or subject, or install the free Little Scholars Android app for offline lessons.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What is the best free alternative to ABCmouse?

Learning App for Kids, Khan Academy Kids, PBS Kids Games and Duolingo ABC are all free. Learning App for Kids adds English and Urdu lessons across nine subjects, with no login.

Is there an app like ABCmouse but free?

Yes. Learning App for Kids covers nine subjects from Playgroup to Grade 5 at no cost. Its Android app, Little Scholars, runs every lesson offline once installed.

How much does ABCmouse cost?

ABCmouse lists Premium at $14.99 a month or $79.99 a year, plus taxes. Prices vary by sign-up channel, so compare free alternatives before you commit.

Which ABCmouse alternatives work offline without Wi-Fi?

Learning App for Kids runs every lesson offline in its Little Scholars Android app once installed. Khan Academy Kids has an offline library, PBS Kids Games plays downloaded games offline and Duolingo ABC works offline. All four are free.

Are there bilingual educational alternatives to ABCmouse?

Yes. Learning App for Kids teaches in English and Urdu, including Urdu script, across nine subjects from Playgroup to Grade 5. PBS Kids Games offers its games in English and Spanish.

Is Khan Academy Kids better than ABCmouse?

Khan Academy Kids is free, with no ads or subscriptions, while ABCmouse Premium is paid. Khan Academy Kids covers ages 2 to 8. The better fit depends on your budget and the subjects you need. See our ABCmouse vs Khan Academy Kids comparison.

Give the Learning App for Kids a try. It's free

Ad-free, bilingual lessons + a free AI tutor, in your web browser and on Android.

Most Trusted 10 ABCmouse Alternatives for Kids (Free and Paid)